Established for the Greatest Benefit to Mankind, The Nobel Prize started as far back as 1901, honoring men and women from all corners of the globe for outstanding achievements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature, and for work in peace. The foundations for the prize were laid in 1895 when Alfred Nobel wrote his last will, leaving much of his wealth to the establishment of the Nobel Prize. Alfred Nobel wrote in his will “It is my express wish that in awarding the prizes no consideration be given to the nationality of the candidates, but that the most worthy shall receive the prize”.

Alfred Bernhard Nobel a chemist, engineer, inventor, businessman, and philanthropist hailed from Sweden, Known for inventing dynamite. Nobel held 355 different patents, dynamite being the most famous. After reading a premature obituary which condemned him for profiting from the sales of arms, he bequeathed his fortune to institute the Nobel Prizes. Nobel later died on the 10th of December 1896 leaving 31 million SEK (today about 265 million dollar) to fund the Nobel Prize. Some of his famous quotes are;

“If I have a thousand ideas and only one turns out to be good, I am satisfied.

Hope is nature’s veil for hiding truth’s nakedness.”


“I intend to leave after my death a large fund for the promotion of the peace idea, but I am skeptical as to its results.”

A person or organization awarded the Nobel Prize is called Nobel Laureate. The word “laureate” refers to being signified by the laurel wreath. In ancient Greece, laurel wreaths were awarded to victors as a sign of honor. Since the inception of the Noble Prize 923 have been awarded the Nobel Laureates. Below are the 2017 of the winners of the Nobel Prize honors

Nobel Prizes 2017

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2017

Rainer Weiss        Barry C. Barish         Kip S. Thorne

Prize share: 1/2     Prize share: 1/4         Prize share: 1/4

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2017 was divided, one half awarded to Rainer Weiss, the other half jointly to Barry C. Barish and Kip S. Thorne “for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves”.

“Huge discoveries are really the result of giant collaborations”. Physics Laureate Kip S. Thorne reflects on how this year’s Nobel Prize in Physics was a remarkable team effort.”

READ ALSO  Requirement for Studying Agriculture in University of Ibadan


The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2017

Jacques Dubochet   Joachim Frank      Richard Henderson

Prize share: 1/3     Prize share: 1/3    Prize share: 1/3

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2017 was awarded to Jacques Dubochet, Joachim Frank and Richard Henderson “for developing cryo-electron microscopy for the high-resolution structure determination of biomolecules in solution”.

READ ALSO  See The List Of Universities Approved By NUC

“Now there’s an explosion in research.” Immediately after the announcement, Professor Peter Brzezinski, Member of the Chemistry Committee, described a cryo-electron microscope and how it has helped us to see the invisible.


The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2017

Jeffrey C. Hall     Michael Rosbash   Michael W. Young

Prize share: 1/3    Prize share: 1/3      Prize share: 1/3

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2017 was awarded jointly to Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young “for their discoveries of molecular mechanisms controlling the circadian rhythm”.

The Nobel Prize in Literature 2017

Kazuo Ishiguro

Prize share: 1/1

The Nobel Prize in Literature 2017 was awarded to Kazuo Ishiguro “who, in novels of great emotional force, has uncovered the abyss beneath our illusory sense of connection with the world”.

“The greatest authors in history have received this Prize”. Here, 2017 Literature Laureate Kazuo Ishiguro shares his reaction to the award: “I come in the line of lots of my greatest heroes”.

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2017

Richard H. Thaler

Prize share: 1/1

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2017 was awarded to Richard H. Thaler “for his contributions to behavioral economics”.

“He’s made economics more human”. Peter Gärdenfors, Member of the Prize Committee, explains Richard Thaler’s ground-breaking work in the field of behavioral economics.

The Nobel Peace Prize 2017

International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN)

Prize share: 1/1

The Nobel Peace Prize 2017 was awarded to International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN) “for its work to draw attention to the catastrophic humanitarian consequences of any use of nuclear weapons and for its ground-breaking efforts to achieve a treaty-based prohibition of such weapons”.

“Wow! This is amazing!”  Executive Director of ICAN Beatrice Fihn was surprised and overwhelmed when she received the news from the Norwegian Nobel Committee.


Ismail Issa


Lover of Books, Writer, Digital Marketer and Tech gadget freak. My philosophy is simple "Plan, Pray and Be Patient".